This spiral staircase is the center of the house.  Possibly is it also the center of my self, my life, the still axis in the middle of a constantly moving and changing, and for the most part chaotic, world.  For some reason when I tread these steps I am possessed of a sense of clarity and resolve.  An awareness of how long I have come, and through what bewildering and kaleidoscopic changes and agonizing difficulties, to be here in this house, in the very center of my life, with my beloved partner H.  I suppose it’s like the Zen Buddhist practice of kinhin (walking meditation).  They are serious steps, but they are also taken lightly.  It is like a dance with the world.  I turn and so does everything else.  My steps impart my own small but unique bit of momentum to the world…

