Earlier in the year I got the idea for a novel I’d like to write, and I kind of thought about it for a while, and came up with some general notion of characters and a very vague sense of a plot. Then I moved from one city to another in order to be with my fiance. Then I started in on some adjunct teaching at a local college. The teaching kept me so insanely busy that I decided to put off further thoughts of the novel until after the semester. Well folks, here it is. It’s put up or shut up. I turned in my course grades on Monday. So I’m now restarting the novel project. I’ve been working today on character sketches. As for the coming months, I won’t be doing any teaching next semester so I have no excuse for not putting in the requisite time and effort and seeing this thing through to the end. My resolution for the new year is that 2013 will be the year that my novel gets written.

