Heidi and I got back from Japan late Sunday night after a long and exhausting journey from Kyoto to Syracuse.  The whole Japan vacation/honeymoon was a whirlwind of activity.  We went so many interesting places and saw so many beautiful things, and met so many wonderful people!  It was almost overwhelming.  I had originally planned to write about it all on this blog over the course of several posts, but during our last day in Kyoto it occurred to me that better would be to write a little book about it, a travel journal, illustrate it with photos from the trip, and publish it myself.  So that is what I’m planning to do as soon as I recover from this damned jet lag.  In writing this proposed Japan journal I would like to take some inspiration from some classic works of travel writing which I’m very fond of, such as Lawrence Durrell’s book on the Greek Islands, or Henry Miller’s The Colossus of Maroussi, or Strange Big Moon: Japan and India Journals by Joanne Kyger.  I’d like this book to not only recount what we did and what we saw, but leave room for some creative interpretation of our experience, to give myself a little leeway for my thoughts to roam a bit.  And of course, pictures!  It will happen.  Coming soon…..

