I once met a fellow who had a lot of spiritual interests and who seemed to be fond of metaphysical theorizing and speculation. I found him to be a likable fellow and enjoyable to talk to, even though sometimes I didn’t understand what he was talking about. Soon after we met and we started talking he asked me what my beliefs were. This threw me off balance a little, because in considering his question I realized that I couldn’t think of any beliefs I had. None. But he was gently insistent. I think he was genuinely interested in what my opinions were on “spiritual” matters. I tried hard to think of some but I couldn’t come up with anything.

I was fairly mature by then, about 60, and it was the first time I realized that all the beliefs I once held throughout the course of my life had gradually fallen away from me. I also realized for the first time that I didn’t really need any beliefs, and that I felt freer and more natural without them. One thing I’ve learned about the Universe is that it doesn’t really care what we believe.

